It’s Amazing Who Reads Twitter

November 6, 2008

If you aren’t familiar with it, Twitter is a micro blogging site which lets you post small snippits about what you’re up to.  It seems useless at first, but it allows for the creation of quite a powerful network of individuals.  I have had a twitter account for over two years, but I only recently “drank the Kool-Aid” so to speak.  Hearing stories of how other educators have built transcontinental partnerships with like-minded educators really encouraged me to look further into the technology.

Each time a person posts, it is called a “tweet.”  You’re not expected to go running around to 100 different twitter profiles reading all their tweets.  Instead, you “follow” people who you are interested in, and all of the tweets of the people you folow are aggregated into one place:  your twitter home screen.  If people follow you back, you can have short, public discussions that others can join into.  A recent discussion I chimed in on was about school information systems.  I read this:

In response, responded with a note about our school information system:

Thinking that was that, I went to lunch.  Upon my return, I had a new friend following me on Twitter, and he had sent me a private note:

…so I clicked on his photo to find out who he was:

How cool!  You never know who is out there when you post a small, 140 character (max) micro-blog posting on Twitter.  If you have a need, interest, gripe, idea, or query, just tweet it.  You never know who’s going to reply!

If you have a twitter account, let me know and I’ll follow you!  My twitter name is moixland.

Leave a Reply

