This really is a journey…

December 22, 2008
Like drinking from a fire hydrant!

Like drinking from a fire hydrant!

Winter break has arrived, and most of my colleagues in these parts are spending some quality time with friends and family.  I’m using some of my down time to write my first reflective piece for this blog.

It’s unreal how much I’ve learned since September.  That’s when I started using an aggregator to read news feeds and blogs.  I was already an avid podcast listener, but I really had no idea of the true value of RSS.  In October I started my own weekly podcast for my students.  Now that I’m comfortable with audio recording and editing, I intend to integrate student podcasts into my classes in the coming months.  October was also when I started this blog.  November brought more change; I joined Twitter and started cultivating my PLN.

I feel like I’ve come late to the party, but I don’t feel out of place.  Early on (lol, last month), @cnansen helped me find some folks to follow on Twitter.  Now I’m seeing new names show up on my followers list daily that I don’t recognize but who have so many great ideas to share.  When I needed some help on podcasting specifics, my PLN was on the ball with answers.

This month I was accepted as a Discovery STAR Educator.  That means that I’m an educator who creates and shares innovative curriculum content and who promotes the use of tools like UnitedStreaming.  These activities are nothing new to me, but it’s nice to have a label to apply to them.  I’ve been presenting at regional conferences since 2005.  My school board has never recognized my conference efforts, but they sent me a congratulatory letter for my STAR acceptance.

What a semester! I’ve been playing catch-up with the edublog scene, crafting my own digital footprint, and pondering where all of this fits into my teaching practices.  I’m more “current” than I’ve ever been, and I feel empowered to bring the new ideas that are coming my way into my classroom next semester.

Happy Holidays from MoixLand!

Leave a Reply

