On-Again, Off-Again

March 22, 2010

In my 2008 post, Economy’s Impact on Web 2.0?, I asked the question “what if some of the free tools we use every day disappear tomorrow?”  I frequently use URL shortening services like tinyurl, bit.ly, and tr.im.  When I need to send my students to a shared Google Spreadsheet to enter lab activity data, if I want to mention a resource in a podcast, or if I just need to fit a resource into Twitter’s 140 characters, I go to tr.im first.

I shortened a URL with tr.im just the other day:  http://tr.im/gfest2010

Now, their home page is referring users to alternative sites, indicating that no new URLs may be shortened using the website.

tr.im is no longer accepting URL shortening requests via its website. May we respectfully suggest that you choose one of the many other wonderful alternatives available.

Please understand that this does not affect any software that has tr.imavailable within it. tr.im’s API is available, and redirections are working normally.

This isn’t the first time tr.im has gone down, but I worry that this time it’s for good.  I would like to use goo.gl as my new URL shortener because of it’s speed (and I doubt Google’s going to shutter anytime soon).  Unfortunately, it’s API-only at the moment.  I guess I’ll use is.gd in the mean time.

One Response to “On-Again, Off-Again”


  1. […] and I tried to use as many Google tools in the creation of the resources.  Just hours before tr.im stopped accepting new URLs, I shortened the GoogleFest site to […]


Leave a Reply

