GoogleFest, meet Prezi

May 23, 2010

I haven’t had a lot of time to blog this week, with finals, graduation, yet another graduate class, and preparing for next week’s GoogleFest.

I was asked to put together a series of hour-long sessions for this year’s end-of-year professional development days.  The sessions are Collaboration with Google Docs, Forms & Spreadsheets, Calendar & Presentations, and Google Sites.  With the help of a couple of colleagues, GoogleFest was born!

I began by planning the sessions and their descriptions, and then I recruited some help to share the workload.  I created a Google Site to house all of the resources associated with the sessions, and I tried to use as many Google tools in the creation of the resources.  Just hours before tr.im stopped accepting new URLs, I shortened the GoogleFest site to http://tr.im/gfest2010

Everything changed when I got my free Prezi account.

I had seen Prezi used once before in a presentation given by Steve Dembo, but they didn’t offer free accounts for educators at the time.  Through my work as a Discovery Education STAR, I was given a free Prezi account.  On a whim, I decided to organize a GoogleFest presentation in it.  By the end of the day, I had several of the workshops completed using Prezi.

Check out this great Prezi on Google Search Tips,  my GoogleFest Prezi, and all of the great Prezis categorized by discipline at http://edu.prezi.com.

PS:  If you’re new to Prezi, use the arrow keys to navigate!

Leave a comment